Posted by: FLPatriot | January 27, 2009

We debate because we care, why do you?

I recently had a discussion with my wife about the topics of discussion I find on different blogs, of course mainly God, Creation , evolution and topics like that. She posed the question to me of why do I spend time commenting on these subjects when most of the responses are against me and that most of the responders will not change their minds anyways. So I thought about it and came up with the answer that I do it because I care. Once of the hardest things to come to grips with as a new believer is that not everyone I know is going to heaven. I do not say I know who is and who isn’t, but the odds are that a lot of them will not. So in the face of losing there friendship I feel a need to tell them about Jesus and his sacrifice to save us from our sin.

Recently I have moved from face to face “witnessing” to online evangelism. I find that online I get a bigger audience that wishes to speak on this topic and are not shy to speak their minds. So I post comments on blogs to help get the message out in hopes that someone will hear the true gospel of Jesus and not just what is being said by those who hate Jesus. Then in hearing the truth these people will be left with questions that will lead them to answers that will ultimate allow them to enter heaven. So thats my agenda, I comment because I do not want to see anyone go to hell, but would rather be in heaven with them when the time comes.

Then the thought hit me, why do Atheists blog against Christianity so much? I know, they don’t believe in any god form any religion, but I am going to single in on Jesus haters. What do they hope to accomplish in proven a Christian wrong? I could not find an answer to this in my mind so I am hoping to find answers in the blogsphere. Why do Atheist spend their time on the internet trying to prove their beliefs are the only truth? What is their motivation?


Responses

  1. My only argument would be from the view point of “no true Scotsmen”, most of the professing Christians are not practicing Christians.

    I will concede that it is more acceptable to be a Christian than an Atheist, especially in public office (the Texas thing is wrong). But it has become a lot harder to be an outspoken Christian in the modern public arena. There is persecution in America for Christians, I will not say it is more than it is for Atheists, but you can not deny that it is present. Of course the persecution in the world as a whole is greater for Christians if you look at Korea, China or the middle east to name some examples.

    It should make you feel more hopeful that our country is trending towards becoming more and more tolerant of Atheists and I do see a future where an Atheists will be elected president, once the older generations die off (baby boomers and older). This is just my observations and it is not definitive.

    I would love to read that report you wrote if you would send it to me, coville@gmail.com.

  2. I’m denying it is present. The only “persecution” Christians face in this country is passive ridicule from people who either find the topic embarrassing to talk about (though still, themselves, wouldn’t deny the existence of a god), or those who think it’s funny to pick on the “churchy” guy. But that isn’t persecution.

    Head over to thinkatheist.com and read some of the hate mail. Death threats are common, merely because an atheist site exists on the internet. We’re actually at risk of losing our jobs–and this isn’t isolated to the bible belt. There’s a permeating social stigma about what atheism is which is based on nothing but lies (for instance, that atheists lack morals).

    In the United States, atheists have infinitely more claim to the title of “persecuted” than any Christian, period. Getting made fun of isn’t persecution. Systematically being denied rights or being targeted and tangibly punished or threatened for your views–that is de facto persecution.

    The treatment of women in the Middle East, the treatment of Christians by authoritarian governments; those are even more extreme examples. The only place where I could see it argued that Christians and Atheists are treated equally is in fundamentalist Islamic theocracies where the punishment for conversion to Christianity is death, and the punishment for being an atheist is death.

    Remember: being denied a captive audience for your religion is not persecution, nor is being asked not to practice it around others. That’s asking for courtesy, not oppressing your beliefs. I hope you recognize that.

  3. The report, by the way, is titled “Atheists in America” and can be found on thinkatheist.com

  4. Here is a nice example of persecution:
    Luke 19:27

  5. Actually Luke 19:27 is part of a parable talking about judgment day, and yes God will persecute his enemies on judgment day. Start with Luke 19:11 and rad all the way through Luke 19:27 and you will get the full point.

  6. I certainly wish to encourage you. You’re on the right track.

    I wrote a similar piece called Why Darwinists Argue -http://siriusknotts.wordpress.com/2007/12/08/why-darwinists-argue/ – with a predictably vitriolic, oh-so-similar response. No matter how they try to squirm out of this objection [typically by trying to move the goalpost], the cannot come up with a rational basis for why they argue at all. Argument is based upon meaning which is in turn based on design and purpose, not chance.

    CS Lewis had a similar objection:

    ”If the solar system was brought about by an accidental collision, then the appearance of organic life on this planet was also an accident, and the whole evolution of Man was an accident too. If so, then all our present thoughts are mere accidents – the accidental by-product of the movement of atoms. And this holds for the thoughts of the materialists and astronomers as well as for anyone else’s. But if their thoughts – i.e., of Materialism and Astronomy – are merely accidental by-products, why should we believe them to be true? I see no reason for believing that one accident should be able to give me a correct account of all the other accidents. It’s like expecting that the accidental shape taken by the splash when you upset a milk-jug should give you a correct account of how the jug was made and why it was upset.”

    Keep the faith!

    –Sirius Knott

  7. Well I have read it a number of time now, and it is still vile. As an aside; wouldn’t it have saved everyone a lot of trouble if Jesus just said what he meant instead of using obtuse and opaque parables?

    Sirius:
    Would you not agree that decisions, laws, public policy, etc. are always best made on actual knowledge instead of mythology? It should be a self-evident truth that actual knowledge is the superior position. Since the Christian faith (nor any other) has no evidence to distinguish it from mythology and has all the earmarks of other well-recognized mythologies; how can we NOT argue against those that are trying to form public policy and education based on it? It would be immoral not to. Read up on Osiris and see if you recognize the many features of Christianity that were lifted from that (and other) mythical gods.

    Your citation of Lewis demonstrates (yet again) that the most compelling ‘arguments’ from the theistic side come from consequences…that is to say “I don’t like my ideas being false, therefore my ideas are true.” It is not just a bad argument…it is NOT EVEN an argument. I am embarrassed for those that hand their hats on it.

    Evidence is evidence and facts are facts and truth is truth. Whether you like them or not is entirely immaterial. Wanting something to be so does not make it so.

  8. …..for instance:

    “He who will not eat of my body and drink of my blood, so that he will be made one with me and I with him, the same shall not know salvation.” An inscription to Mithras which parallels John 6:53-54.

  9. Mike Burns: I have commented on this topic before that it is easily explained that here are many parallels between the history of the Bible and the myths of ancient civilizations.

    God blessed the nation of Israel and they where a wealthy nation. Because of this many other civilizations would have wanted to emulate them and would have created their own myths to try and be original. But when you remove all of the common aspects you will see that Jesus is unique compared to every other god. In every other belief system man has to do something to earn grace with their god, Jesus offers the gift of salvation for free. We are unable to do anything to earn salvation, that is why Jesus had to die on the cross to pay it for us.

    Jesus spoke in parables to full fill the prophecy in the old testament, Isaiah 6:9-10 and Psalms 78:2.

  10. REALLY!!!…..That is your answer?!?!?!

    So many very specific parts of the narrative show up multiple times with multiple gods and Jesus and you come back with….”if you take away every way are the same, then they are different”?

    WOW! I have absolutely no idea how to respond to that!

    [backing out of the room slowly]

  11. Finally I found an atheists that gave a great response out this question: Check it out here – http://recusatorysarcasm.wordpress.com/2009/02/18/do-unbelievers-evangelize/


Leave a Reply

Categories

